Tags

, , ,

I don’t wanna go to wooooork.  Not that I ever do, but today I’m really tired and just want to curl up in bed and sleep a few more hours.  I tried to go to bed early last night but my boys were being especially bad – cats, not kids. They’re still kittens and into everything. As much as I love them I’m suppressing the urge to throttle them daily. Anyways, back to work.

As I’ve mentioned before, I work in accounting and right now we’re trying to close the books on the previous month.  It’s always stressful but this month is particularly bad. We recently acquired a new company and conversions are always a pain in the arse.  This one is not going smoothly. I probably have 3x as many unmatched invoices sitting out in the system as I normally do.  Our vendor can’t get their pricing right to save themselves.  I’m having to credit and rebill 200 invoices at a time, and it takes a full bloody day to do it. Our carriers grow more incompetent by the day. I can’t get the paperwork I need to correct their mistakes and the lady who’s supposed to harass the carriers into giving us what we need has been out sick a lot lately.  I suspect she’s going to quit or receive an invitation to seek excellence elsewhere before too much longer.  My company doesn’t tolerate excessive absenteeism.  They can’t. There’s too much to do.

So I have to get the entire account cleared by Friday.  I really have no idea how I’m going to swing it.  Anna’s still a moron so she’s no help. I feel like I have the Doom of Damacles hanging over my head.  The silver lining to my cloud is that once it’s done, it’s done for me.  Well, mostly.  I do have to do prior month corrections and rebills but it’s not normally too bad – although it may be this month.  The person I feel sorriest for is my boss who has to reconcile these accounts.  I’ve tried to keep good notes and give her copies of all the problems, but dear lord there are a lot of them.  I’m saying here and now – for the record – that I don’t want her job, like EVER. I’m coming unhinged with the amount of stress I’m under now. If I had to do her job I’d be under my desk, curled up in a ball, sobbing hysterically. I give her kudos for working well under pressure.  She has her occasional pissy mood, but nothing like I’d have in her shoes.

I guess it’s better to be busy than bored, and lord knows I need the cash, but on days like today, when I’m tired to my bones I just don’t waaaannnaaaa…..

