Tags

My trusty old laptop of 5 years finally gave up the ghost and I decided it was time to get a new one.  I wanted something to do word processing on essentially and didn’t really want anything fancy.  I did however want something small and compact that I take to the library or to the bookstore with me because I tend to focus better away from home.

So I’m looking at this little $275 computer when the sales guy comes up to me.  These guys can spot a sucker from a mile away and clearly I was ripe for the picking. So we started talking and I asked a few basic questions about what I wanted to use it for and an hour later I was walking out of the store with a brand new Surface Pro2. I told you, I am a sucker for technology, even though I don’t know how to use half of the gee whiz toys the guy was showing me.

I got it home and set it up.  Windows 8 is a lot different than what I’m used to, but I played with it and found everything I need.  Hey, I’m here aren’t I?  Anyway I tried out of a few of the gee whiz features and I have to say – I love this thing already.  I don’t know how sturdy it is or how well it’ll hold up to being carried around, but so far so good.

The itty bitty keyboard is taking a bit of getting used to but I like it.  I went with the one with the actual keys instead of the soft touch one.  I tried the soft touch keyboard at the store and didn’t like it.  What can I say? I’m old school and find the clackety clackety of the keyboard comforting. At least this way I know I hit something – whether it’s the right key or not.

There’s still a lot of features left to be explored but so fat, I really like my neat new toy.

